Annexation Blueprint

Annexation Blueprint (2007) / Interlocal Agreement

On December 3, 2007, the Vancouver City Council adopted the “City of Vancouver-Clark County: Vancouver Urban Growth Area Annexation Blueprint 20-Year Plan” in conjunction with the “Interlocal Agreement By and Between Clark County and the City of Vancouver with Respect to Joint Growth Management Planning”. Clark County adopted the Interlocal Agreement on December 4, 2007.

The Annexation Blueprint is a 20-year plan originally adopted in 2003 and updated in 2007. The plan outlines a general annexation schedule for Vancouver's Urban Growth Area (VUGA). The plan divides the unincorporated land within the City of Vancouver's Urban Growth Area (VUGA) into 18 annexation areas and 57 subareas. Each annexation area is listed alphabetically (A-R), not chronologically. The map below shows all of the annexation areas and subareas. Each annexation area is grouped into four separate five-year phases. The proposed schedule is based on information including: city policy, proximity to existing city limits, adopted 2008 VUGA, service and neighborhood boundaries, and the available methods of annexation. The linked map shows the proposed annexation timeframes.