Planning Commission

Appointed by City Council to lead the development or update of the Comprehensive Plan and Development Code, and to monitor implementation to ensure that the City achieves its land use and community livability goals. Planning Commission also reviews, considers public input and makes recommendations to Council regarding major planned developments, mixed use developments and subarea plans.

Agendas are posted 10 days in advance of meeting.

Meeting Time: Meetings scheduled as needed on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month; workshops 4-5 p.m.; Hearings 6 p.m. (times can vary depending on agenda). See agenda for further information.

Number of members: Seven. City residency is required except for one member who can be selected from the unincorporated Vancouver Urban Growth Area

Length of term: Four years. Appointed by City Council

Maximum terms: Three


Erik Paulsen - Chair Mario Raia - Vice Chair
Robert Haverkate Steve Schulte
John Lee Richard Bailey
Dimitry Mishchuk  


Sandra Towne: Planning Manager, Community and Economic Development Department
Rosemary Armour: Support Specialist, Community and Economic Development Department,                  360-487-7813,




City Hall
415 West 6th Street
Vancouver, WA 98660