Washington State Crime Victims Compensation
If you or a loved one has suffered personal injury from a violent crime, the Washington State Crime Victim Compensation Program may be able to help.
This program was created to help victims with the many costs associated with violent crime. The program provides financial compensation to crime victims for such expenses as medical bills, loss of financial support, and funeral expenses. The amount we pay is reduced by any public or private insurance payments.
While no amount of compensation can erase the painful memories of violent crime, we hope this program will help in your recovery and ease some of the financial burdens you face.
The Crime Victims Compensation Program may be able to help you if
- You have a bodily injury or severe emotional stress from a crime.
- The crime is a gross misdemeanor or felony.
- You file a report with law enforcement within one year of the date the crime occurred or within one year of when it reasonably could have been reported.
- You provide reasonable cooperation with law enforcement. This includes helping in the investigation and prosecution of the offender.
- You apply for benefits within two years of the crime being reported to law enforcement or, for good cause, within five years.
The Crime Victims Compensation Program may deny an application if
- Your injuries were the result of your own actions such as provoking, inciting or participating in the event that led to your injuries.
- Your injury happened while you were attempting to or committing a felony.
- The injury happened while you were incarcerated.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony within five years preceding the criminal act for which you are applying where the felony is a violent offense under RCW 9.94A.030 or a crime against persons under RCW 9.94A.411, or if you’re convicted of a felony after applying and haven’t completely satisfied all legal financial obligations owed prior to applying for benefits.
Washington State Crime Victims Compensation covers
- Medical/dental benefits
- Lost wages
- Medication coverage
- Mental health treatment
- Grief counseling
- Funeral expenses
Crime Victims Compensation Program is a last payor of benefits, you must use your primary insurance first.
Washington State Crime Victims Compensation does not cover
- Identity theft
- Personal property crimes
- Crime scene cleanup
- Expenses covered by other insurance
To File a Claim:
- File a timely police report.
- Complete the Application for Benefits online by going to Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. You will have a chance to save or print a copy of the completed application for your records before you submit the claim. The claim number displays after you submit the claim and you do not need to send a copy of the paper application to us. You will hear from us within 5 days regarding receipt of your application and in most cases within 10 – 15 days regarding the outcome of your application.
- Complete the Application for Benefits – Crime Victims (F800‑042‑000) form. This form is also available from victim witness offices and health-care providers. For homicide victims, use the Application for Benefits – Homicide Crime Victims (F800-120-000).
- Be sure to sign, date, mail, email or fax the form. Incomplete information could delay the decision on your claim.
- Mail to:
Crime Victims Compensation Program
PO Box 44520
Olympia WA 98504
- Fax to: 360-902-5333
- Email to: CrimeVictimsProgramM@Lni.wa.gov
- You will hear from within 5 – 7 days regarding receipt of your application and in most cases within 30 days regarding the outcome of your application. Call 800-762-3716 to check the status of your application.
For additional information please see the Washington State Crime Victims Compensation website.
Restitution can be requested in addition to Crime Victim Compensation or as sole compensation. Please reach out to your advocate for additional information.